The Commander Who Never Gives Up

Despite getting hit with a serious illness, this man still, didn’t give up, translated…

Reading “The Lady from the Breakfast Shop”, it’d reminded me of my neighbor: Mr. Lee, who owned and operated a bath and kitchen appliances shop.

Mr. Lee’s shop isn’t that eye catching, in fact, his shop was such a mess, you’d needed to be careful, walking inside, to not step on the pipes, or the faucets, but, this is nothing, to his established reputation of being an honest businessman; what’s most impressive was his service after the sales were made, those items he’d sold to his clients from a decade ago, a call from them, he’d be, right there.

the rehabilitation process is never easy, not my phoot…

In recent two years, I’d often seen Mr. Lee with his two helpers with the toolboxes, they were his son, and, it seemed, that he was, ready, to pass the business to the next generation.  The two sons called Mr. Lee “the commander in chief”, and, this commander-in-chief dad was very strict in demands for his sons at work, and they’d needed to, keep themselves under close watch, to avoid getting grilled.

AT the start of the year, I’d passed Mr. Lee’s shop, and saw him, wrapped in thick coat, with the urine bags hanging, on the wheelchair, kept his messy shop, like he was, using all that’s left in him, to keep his store intact.  I thought he had a stroke, then, I’d learned, that it was his spine that was attacked by his own immune system, causing him to become paralyzed from the waist down from his eldest son.

The doctor said that this was quite rare, that there were only, three known cases, and rehabilitation is the only way to keep his legs from worsening, and, the two other cases couldn’t cope with the hardships from the trials of rehabilitations, and already gave up.

“The moment dad was hospitalized, he’d asked to get into the rehab programs, he’d said, that my younger brother’s and my skills aren’t quite there yet, he couldn’t go down.  Considering his age and condition, the process of rehabilitation is very arduous, but he’d, forced himself to go through it, and my younger brother and I would naturally, work even harder.”  The eldest son had tears in his eyes, but with that stable, firm tone of voice, it’d made me feel, how strong the connection of the family was, I’m sure, the three of them, will weather through this trial without any difficulties.

physical rehabiliation is a long and hard process…not my photo

Last month, I’d, redecorated my kitchen, and Mr. Lee walked in, with his walker, with a straightened up back, voice like the bells, and directed all the work himself.  The commander had, returned, although his body which was run over by his illness seemed a bit older, but, those lines on his face became, even more sturdy, and I couldn’t help but say to him, “Mr. Commander, I’m truly, glad to see you, welcome back!”

So, it’s with this man’s strong will, that he was able to, pull through, because he refused to get defeated by his illness, and he’d, worked hard in rehab, that was how he was able to, recover soon enough, and that, is something we can all, learn from!

About taurusingemini

All I have to say, I've already said it, and, let's just say, that I'm someone who's ENDURED through a TON of losses in my life, and I still made it to the very top of MY game here, TADA!!!
This entry was posted in Experiences of Life, Lessons of Life, Overcoming Obstacles in Life, Philosophies of Life, Positives of Life, Properties of Life, the Road to Recovery, The Trials of Life, Unspecified, Values of Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

