Grandpa Becoming More Physically Active

Keeping up with regular exercise, it’s not just a lifestyle, it is, a WAY of life!!!  Translated…

My eighty-eight year-old grandfather is severely demented, he’s such an introvert, since my grandmother and his friends passed on, he’d refused, to involve himself in the elderly touring groups, and not liked going out; no matter how hard we’d worked, to convince him, he’d become, so unwilling, to exercise in the garden downstairs, the doctor said, that without the proper amount of exercise and contact with the outside world, it will only make his dementia progress faster.

Later on, I’d found a club set up for the elderly population by the government was close by, I’d coaxed my grandfather to sign up for the exercise classes.  At first, my grandfather was too shy, the first few class sessions, we’d gone with him; he was the eldest member of the class, the instructor selected him as the head of the class, and, soon enough, he’d become, acquainted with the rest of the class, and he’d gone to class happy every single week.  Once, it was his birthday, the whole class sang happy birthday to him, which made him cried.

like this???  Photo from online…

“Follow these moves!  Left foot!  Right foot!” with the rhythm of the songs in the eighties, the teacher on the podium moved around, and the elderly on the floor shook their bodies along, the atmosphere was very active and happy.  I’d captured my grandfather’s exercises with my cell phone, and, sent it to my aunts who lived away, so they could be more relaxed, and on the one hand, the footages are saved, as the goings on of my grandfather’s daily life, reminding him of the happy times he had in class; other than getting the enough exercises he’d needed, he could also, make new friends too, his elderly years became, more fulfilled!

So, this is the importance of socialization in the elderly years, just like for this elderly man, he’d needed, to get involved back into the community, and, the grandchild took him to the elderly activities center, and, before long, the elderly man started participating, and regained his interests in socializing, and this made his lifestyle become a little more active than before, which made him healthier mentally AND physically as well!

About taurusingemini

All I have to say, I've already said it, and, let's just say, that I'm someone who's ENDURED through a TON of losses in my life, and I still made it to the very top of MY game here, TADA!!!
This entry was posted in Beliefs, Experiences of Life, Lessons of Life, Philosophies of Life, Positives of Life, Properties of Life, Socialization, Staying Active During the Elderly Years, Values of Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Any Comments???

