Grandma, Thank You for Still Remembering Me

How much of a influence his demented grandmother has on him, translated…

It’s, as if I can still hear that familiar voice, from the depth of my memories.

“Han-Xiang, did you go to work like you were supposed to?”

“When are you getting married?”

“Grandma, I already married!  Your great grandson is already six years old, you’d seen him so many times already!”

Yes, that, was the conversation I have with my grandmother.

My parents were divorced since I was younger, I was, raised by my grandmother, being the only eldest grandson of the family, my grandmother held highered expectations toward me, it’s just, that growing up, I was, very rebellious, entered into the prison systems time and time again too, but grandma had, never given up on me.  Even as she’d become demented, slowly immobilized, slowly forgotten about everybody and everything around her, even my older sister, she’d still remembered me, and, my aunt would push her on her wheelchairs to come visit me in jail.

As the classmates from prison were celebrating the New Years, I was overcome with the news of my grandmother’s death.  Grandma’s raising me up, her expectations for me, even as she’d forgotten all else, she’d still, remembered me, and, all I could do to repay her, was that offering of one incense on her shrine.

And now, I’d, fouled up again, I’d felt the aches during Mother’s Day.  Will the memories be gone?  Perhaps!  But I believe, that as love progresses, it becomes, eternity, just as my grandmother, like how much I missed her, grandma, I miss you so!

So, this, is how a man’s life was changed, by the love his grandmother carried for him, and even as the women became demented, she’d still recalled him, and hopefully, this would be enough, to help this young man turn over a new leaf, and after he’s done serving his time in prison, and after he’s released, he will start honoring his own grandmother’s memories by doing the right things in life.

About taurusingemini

All I have to say, I've already said it, and, let's just say, that I'm someone who's ENDURED through a TON of losses in my life, and I still made it to the very top of MY game here, TADA!!!
This entry was posted in Dementia & Other Issues of the Elderly Years, Experiences of Life, Family Relations, Lessons of Life, Positives of Life, Properties of Life, the Consequences of Life, the Process of Life, Things that Came Too Late in Life, Values of Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Any Comments???

