A Lunch Date

Everything is, no longer the same anymore, translated…

After high school, I only got to see him during lunch. It was extremely rowdy at the all-boys’ high school at lunch, and I only found that peace and quiet, next to him.

We met up by the side doors, walked together, to that abandoned ball field. He was always there early, with two iron lunch boxes and the chopsticks, stood up straight, with his smile, seeing me heading over. He’d called out to me, “I’d, packed an extra lunch today again”. Without a word, I’d, smiled, toward him, “It’s wonderful, as, I’d, forgotten my lunch again today.” We’d, faced that instructional building, with that separated, physical education course. After we’d departed from that corner, we’d, become, strangers again.

Later, I’d heard he’d gone abroad. And I graduated out of Teacher’s University, and went back to my alma mater to intern, at lunch, I’d walked to the side door, and I couldn’t, find that shadow waiting there, without a word of complain on his own. As I’d, walked to that corner, nothing is the same again. The all-boys’ high school, that corner that he was no longer there, still quiet as ever, and now, it’d become, somewhat, lost. The two of our in-synchness, eventually, turned, into memories, and, the lunch for one that’s left for me, became harder to swallow.

So, you’d, missed how that friend of yours would, always pack an extra lunch for you, how kind he was toward you, how much thought went into his remembering to pack the lunches for you, and now, as you’d returned back to that same high school to teach, everything is still the same, only, that the people you knew were, all gone, leaving you, that scent of, nostalgia…

About taurusingemini

All I have to say, I've already said it, and, let's just say, that I'm someone who's ENDURED through a TON of losses in my life, and I still made it to the very top of MY game here, TADA!!!
This entry was posted in Experiences of Life, Lessons of Life, Loss, Memories Shared, Positives of Life, Properties of Life, the Process of Life, Values of Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

