Dozing Off, During the Lunch Hours

Translated…

The elderly was, taken away by the television shows, I’d needed to, call out quietly to her, to not scare her. “Grandma, go into the bedroom and sleep!”, she’d had that look of shock on her face, still kept her eyes, glued to the Mandarin programming that’s playing.

yup, it’s, like that!  Not my photograph…

At the age of seventy, she doesn’t seem that old yet, she’s, a skilled cook. And, having just started my first year of high school, I’d played the part, of a boarding youth at her place. And, as a homestay, I’d become picky over my food every now and then, I’d loved more, to watch T.V. and eat at the same time. And, I’d taken advantage of the commercials, to get my second rounds of food in the dining room, to scan the tables for which dish was from the leftovers of last night. Passing through the years of hardship, my grandma became, very frugal, frugality seemed, to have been something that’s, reproduced, from within her. Actually, she has already, eaten, and didn’t need to, sit with me as I ate, it’s just, that she’s, being a temporary nanny, babysitting this grandson, without a mother to watch over him. I’d, turned my head, and, the elderly started, dozing off again, and, I’d needed to, make some noises, to wake her up once more.

This, was the Saturdays after school back in the nineties, the scene that’s just, shared, by the two of us.

This would be, a prominent memory, of your younger days, when you’d spent your afterschool afternoons with your grandmother, who’d cooked for you, and she’d, looked after you, because your parents weren’t around, and, this happens, a lot, for elderly, they would watch T.V. and doze off, and, when you wake them up and tell them to go into the bedroom to sleep, they’d tell you they’re not tired at all…

someone who’d dozed off on a park bench somewhere, NOT my drawing…

About taurusingemini

All I have to say, I've already said it, and, let's just say, that I'm someone who's ENDURED through a TON of losses in my life, and I still made it to the very top of MY game here, TADA!!!
This entry was posted in Experiences of Life, Family Dynamics, Family Relations, Properties of Life, The Passages in Life, Values of Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

