Cooking for Her Son-in-Law, Recollections

Dividing and conquering, the matters of who makes the meals in the house, translated…

We owned and operated a fabric shop for over twenty years, in order to allow mom to fully work as a seamstress, to help with the household economics, dad had taken up all the responsibilities of preparing the meals. Back then, I’d met my husband through the penpal program, after written letters back and forth for over a year, when he’d said he’d wanted to visit my home, it’d caused a ton of commotions. Because my mother, being traditional, feared that it would be improper, to let someone from outside our home to see, that dad’s the cook, and insisted on taking up cooking class in her spare time, despite her busy schedules from work, and dad had, supported her too.

not my photograph…

My mother went to the Farmer’s Union to take the cooking courses taught by a chef, and worked hard, at her cooking skills; in order to encourage her, whatever she’d made, we’d had nothing but good things to say.

Finally, on the day before the guest was to arrive, everything in the preparation department was already, finished. The very next day, mom went to the markets, to buy the fresh produce, and I was, the assistant chef, and dad just accompanied my husband, drinking tea and conversing. After that, dad still cooked the meals regularly, but, whenever friends, relatives, and families came to visit, mom would drop her scissors, and pick up the cooking spatulas.

After I married, as my husband mentioned how tasty my mother’s cooking was, that he couldn’t, stop savoring them, that, was when I’d told him about, this “secret” in our courting process.

making the meals for her family, not my photograph…

So, because the mother works in the shop, she’d not had enough time to prepare the meals, and the dad was more than happy to take over in the kitchen for her, and, the mother felt compelled, to learn to cook the items, for the writer’s husband, to impress him, and so, the dad just, stepped aside, and allowed the mom to shine, and it’d become, a sort of a tradition for the family, the father cooks regularly, but when they have visitors, it was, the mom’s turn, to work in the kitchens!

About taurusingemini

All I have to say, I've already said it, and, let's just say, that I'm someone who's ENDURED through a TON of losses in my life, and I still made it to the very top of MY game here, TADA!!!
This entry was posted in Beliefs, Experiences of Life, Family Dynamics, Family Relations, Philosophies of Life, Properties of Life, The Passages in Life, Values of Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Any Comments???

