Did You Ever Consider Divorce?

Someone who shed light, and helped turned your thoughts around, sometimes, we all need that, translated…

As I readied myself to get off work, I saw my colleague, sighing, I’d smiled and asked her, “Why are you sighing, young lady?”

“I’m heading home, to ANOTHER work shift,”, she’d smiled bitterly toward me, then asked me, “Did you ever consider divorce?”, and, she’d, rushed, to gather her things, readied herself, to face yet, ANOTHER battlefield. Even though, in the workplace, she’s an independent, able-bodied, small group leader, but, there was, that role of a good daughter-in-law she forced herself to fulfill, as she arrived home from work. She doesn’t allow any room for deviations, nor does she DARE say she was tired, worried, that she might, hurt the elders’ feelings. She’d filed the slips for her days off, because she had to prepare for the offerings, to fulfill the requirements of her in-laws’ religions; she’d gotten up every day at six, to make the breakfasts for her in-laws; she is with a great sense of humor, to please her in-laws, to help make the atmosphere at home peaceful.

She’s a PERFECT woman, but, she’d, spun like that top, between family and work, and, the only time she has to be alone, was that ten-minute drive from her work to her house. Being too tired, from time to time, the thought of divorce would, find its way into her mind.

“Never. If my husband and I divorced, I should be, the one, crying.”, I’d told her. “Sounds like, you’re, a blessed woman.”, she’d commended me on how good I have it, with that tone of slight envy.

“Actually, so are you,” I’d returned back to her, “Yeah, once my husband got into an argument with my mother-in-law, and spoke of leaving, and my mother-in-law took my hand, and said, that so long as she still has her daughter-in-law, she will be okay.”, she was, lost in her own thoughts. “So nice, there are, rarely ANY in-laws who’d treated their daughters-in-law like their own.”, “Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm, I believe so too, my in-laws made up for how I didn’t have parents growing up.”

At the time when she was rushing towards the elevator, waving goodbye to me, I seemed to pick up an encouragement from her from her smiles towards me. I think, that the bliss that belonged to everybody, happens, as the thoughts changed.

So, thankfully, there’s this colleague who’s there, to offer an alternative view, because sometimes, we’re, too trapped in our miseries, we’d needed someone from the outside, to POINT out just how blessed we are ourselves, and this, is exactly what happened here, and, there would be moments we all feel fatigued, and wanted to just, throw in the towels…

About taurusingemini

All I have to say, I've already said it, and, let's just say, that I'm someone who's ENDURED through a TON of losses in my life, and I still made it to the very top of MY game here, TADA!!!
This entry was posted in Experiences of Life, Positives of Life, the Ins & Outs of the World, The Passages in Life, the Process of Life, Values of Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

