His Home on the Mountains

Living a life of reduction of materials, but, increased bliss, translated…

Every time I’d gone to my older cousin’s to visit, there was always, a dish served, not looking very appetizing, but, tasted very amazing. And, as I’d let out my awe toward the dish, my older cousin would squint and tell me he’d planted it himself.

Other than the vegetables served at the meals, the fruits served afterwards were also, very memorable. For instance, the kumquat, my cousin would remind me, to eat the skin too, because he’d not used ANY chemical pesticides at all.

who wouldn’t want to live in a place like this???  Not my photograph…

And once I’d asked him why he’d bought the land, he’d told me, that back then, he’d just turned thirty, and finally saved up some money, but couldn’t afford the properties in the city. And, by chance, he saw this cabin made of wood that’s distant from the rest of the world, but very spacious, and, without a second thought, he’d, bought it.

He’d had this wish all along, wanted to live in a house that’s surrounded by the cherry trees. And, although many years had gone by, and, he had yet to have success in planting the trees for them to bloom but, being able to plant his favorite varieties of plants and flowers, he’d felt very fulfilled; and, with the steady productions, sometimes, he’d shared his crops with his families and friends too.

Recently, the young infant my cousin’s household had wished for long is finally here, as I’d visited the family, I’d asked my cousin’s wife secretively, if he’d made it up the mountains lately? She’d smiled, then told me, that he’d been, working hard, to figure out how to plant down the grasses, so my young nephew can roll around on it all he wants to.

and, here’s that vegetable garden that’s in the backyard…NOT my photo still…

“Ahhhhhh, then, you should also get a dog to play with him too!”, my cousin chimed in excitedly. And it seems, that he’s, had another brand new wish!

So, this, is how little wants are reduced when you returned to the simpler lifestyles, and, this is what self-sustaining is all about, NOT needing much in life, just having more than enough of what you’d made, to live off of…

About taurusingemini

All I have to say, I've already said it, and, let's just say, that I'm someone who's ENDURED through a TON of losses in my life, and I still made it to the very top of MY game here, TADA!!!
This entry was posted in Beliefs, Experiences of Life, Lessons of Life, Philosophies of Life, Positives of Life, Properties of Life, The Passages in Life, Values of Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Any Comments???

