A Stage All Your Own, on Parent-Child Interactions

The good values learned by a child, translated…

On the evening my eldest son entered into the language competitions at his school, we’d chewed on the foods, and heard him spoke with nervousness and excitement, about his very first speech.

Turning the conversations, my eldest told me, “Mommy, there was a girl, she was very nervous, and, she’d stuttered as she went up, and, peed in her pants”. Before I put the food into my mouth, I saw my youngest son, lost in his thoughts, seemed to me, that he’d known, how the girl felt. I felt sorry, for the little girl’s loss of control, she must’ve been sent to make her speech, and, had to, force herself on stage.

a case of stage-fright, I suppose…not my photo here.

My younger son wasn’t at all social, in the group activities, he’d naturally, chosen to become the invisible man, and, he’d not spoken up in class either; especially on the eves of celebration in kindergarten, he’d appeared more agitated than usual, and, he’d had nightmares, and cried for no reasons at all. Gladly, his mild temper along with following the rules gained him enough popularity in his class and his teachers would, watch out for him too.

After he entered into the second grade, I hoped to get him more courageous by entering him into the speech competitions, also, becoming more articulate too; and so, as my older son who’s often won the accolades in the recitations, shouldered up the responsibilities to train his younger brother. My eldest son’s “training manual” included anything from the posture to which his brother walked onstage, the placement of the draft he’d be reading from, to the major things, the tone of voice, the volume of voice; as for my mother-in-law, she’d recorded down my youngest son’s practice sessions, to make corrections on him. Every time I got off work, seeing the three of them, grandmother and grandsons, practicing in the living room, I was, moved. Naturally, under these two strict coaches, my youngest son had cried often, but, in about a little over a month, his articulations, his flair on stage, all improved.

not my photo…

On the prelims of his class, my youngest son hopped in front of me, said, “Mommy, Hsien Lee was picked as the class representative!”, I’d smiled and patted him on the head, asked, “You’re happy, aren’t you?” He’d nodded, then continued, “The teacher said she was loud enough, that she was excellent!”, this practice session of recitation had given my younger son a boost of self-confidence, and he’d gotten a taste of what his own hard work can bring, and, when in the future he’d met a bump in the road, I’m certain, he will have the strength to make it through; although he couldn’t shine on the recitations, he can be a very good member of the audience, giving the person on stage the applause. Because this child who’s not at all articulate, had, used his sharpened senses, made observations, and used his own sensitivity, and found a stage all his own.

So, this, is a very good lesson that this young child had learned, although he didn’t win, but, he’d gained something, he’d become more confident now, and probably would no longer be troubled by having to speak in front of others, and at the same time, he can also, congratulate his classmate who won the opportunities to represent his class as well.

About taurusingemini

All I have to say, I've already said it, and, let's just say, that I'm someone who's ENDURED through a TON of losses in my life, and I still made it to the very top of MY game here, TADA!!!
This entry was posted in Experiences of Life, Lessons of Life, Philosophies of Life, Positives of Life, the Learning Process, the Process of Life, Values of Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

