The Worst Day Ever

Giving someone a good day, when you’re having a bad day yourself, translated…

On the eve of my fortieth birthday, I’d lost my job, the way I’d lost my job was cruel and cold, I was, with, NO self-confidence left. I’d stood on that Friday afternoon, on the busying streets of Taipei, where as I was supposed to be at the office, working hard on my case, I was faced, with the biggest defeat of my entire life so far, I’d recalled how I still have several young mouths to feed, and all of a sudden, I felt, so lost. Then, my phone rang, a strange number, with a very young voice.

The young girl introduced me to an online English learning program, I’d laughed bitterly inside, I don’t even have a job anymore, why would I need to, up my skill levels? I’d originally wanted to just, give her the courteous no, but, I’d, thought how my busy day was, no longer filled, and so, I’d, stayed on to talk to her awhile, supposedly, having someone, to distract me from all that’s happened, can’t be all that bad, right?

In our conversations, I can tell, she’s new at this, but, she’d worked, really hard, to overcome her own nervousness, to explain the courses offered, I’d laughed aloud a lot, and responded to her, encouraged her, to keep on telling me more. In the process of listening to her, I’d learned, that she wasn’t, that educated, after she’d graduated, she’d arrived up north from Zhongli, like a lot of the younger people, she also, carried that scent of nostalgia toward the city of Taipei.

She’d just started working as a telemarketer, but, it wasn’t going well for her, she hadn’t made a successful sale this month yet, and, she’s looking at her money running out for the next month. I’d asked her how her day was so far? She’d paused, then told me, not really good, before she’d dialed me up, she got the phones slammed at her by eleven others before, “But, I’m very glad I can help you out, you are, the BEST customer I’d met today!”

After I hung up, I’d smiled. In the worst day of my life, at least, I’d, managed to help another person out, to make her day go better, so she can still hold on to what hope for the future she has left. And maybe, she’s currently, stuck at a point in her life too, not knowing where to go, and, the chance I wasn’t given, doesn’t mean, that I can’t give it. Never met before, with a call, we’d, gotten, connected; it is, better to give than to receive, I want to thank her, for helping me find my own strength. So, let’s both, work hard in this huge city, to keep all the bad things in today, and from tomorrow onward, we shall both be, happy, and strong.

So, this, is how someone’s simple actions can make someone else’s day better, and, this woman was going through a bad day, and yet, she’d given the telemarketer a good day back, and, she’d passed on this cycle of kindness, and, it will only be a short matter of time, when kindness finds its way, back to her too.

About taurusingemini

All I have to say, I've already said it, and, let's just say, that I'm someone who's ENDURED through a TON of losses in my life, and I still made it to the very top of MY game here, TADA!!!
This entry was posted in Acts of Kindness, Experiences of Life, Kindness, Overcoming Obstacles in Life, Philosophies of Life, Positives of Life, Properties of Life, Stories from the Mind, the Consequences of Life, the Kindness Cycle, the Process of Life, The Trials of Life, Values of Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

