Cherishing the Time We’d Shared

Realizing, how time slips away so quickly, so, you’d learned, to cherish each and every moment you have with your families now, translated…

The word that represented 2016 was “hardship”. In my experiences, hardships aren’t anything awful, it can help clear people’s thoughts, and fill them up with expectations of their futures.

One year on New Year’s Eve, my wife and I were stuck in Shanghai, we’d, gone to find a place for the evening with a friend. Other than his parents, he had four other siblings, back then, the economics in China wasn’t that good at all, and, the New Year’s Eve supper almost didn’t have any meats or fishes, but, after the supper, the family sat around, and talked until the wee hours of the night. On the following day, I’d asked him what he was talking so late about, and he’d told me, that they were, discussing the plans for the next year.

everybody get together to celebrate the New Year’s…not my drawing.

Normally, after we’d offered the blessings for the ancestors, had our New Year’s Eve supper, we’d mostly just, watched television, handed out the red envelopes, or played a few games of cards, we’d rarely done anything meaningful. This couple of years, as I was, inspired by my friend, I’d asked my children to sit with us, to talk about the interesting events in their lives over the past year, along with the bad things that’s happened to them, and discuss with them the plans of the year to come, so we’ll be able to, share their worries, their blessings, to let them know, that NO matter where they might be, there will always BE a home here, waiting for them.

My mother often said, “the siblings, with the parents, that, is a whole family, and after the parents are gone, we’re just, relatives.” So, I’d, especially cherished the time we’d all, gotten together to spend the New Year’s holidays.

So, as you got older, you’d, realized, how important these gatherings are, whereas from before, you may not have noted or emphasized it as much, because with the passing of each and every year, more people had, left you, your children are, growing up, starting their own separate families, and, this once-a-year family get-together became, really hard to come by, and it only happened, once, every single year, on Chinese New Years…

the New Year’s at home, not my artwork…

About taurusingemini

All I have to say, I've already said it, and, let's just say, that I'm someone who's ENDURED through a TON of losses in my life, and I still made it to the very top of MY game here, TADA!!!
This entry was posted in Beliefs, Experiences of Life, Lessons of Life, Philosophies of Life, Values of Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Any Comments???

